The Sacraments of Christ

A sacrament is a visible sign instituted by Jesus Christ through which invisible grace and sanctification are communicated to us. Christ instituted seven sacraments: Baptism, Confirmation, Holy Eucharist, Penance (Reconciliation), Extreme Unction (Holy Anointing), and Holy Orders, Matrimony.

From where do we derive the ceremonies which, with the signs instituted by Christ, are used in administering the sacraments?
    From the Church which, with the assistance of the Holy Spirit, has ordained these ceremonies to increase our reverence and respect while imparting the Grace of God.

For more on the Sacraments of Jesus in the Holy Church, pease reference the current Catechism of the Catholic Church (which also has Biblical & Traditional footnotes). An on-line version is available:


BAPTISM is a sacrament in which by water and the word of God we are cleansed from all sin, and regenerated and sanctified in Christ to life everlasting.
(Matthew 28:18-20; John 3:3-5; Mark 16:15-16; Luke 7:29-30; Acts 10:47-48)


CONFIRMATION is a sacrament in which, through the laying on of the bishop’s hands, prayer, and anointing, those who have been baptized are strengthened by the Holy Ghost so that they may firmly profess their faith and sincerely live up to it.
(Acts 8:14-17; Acts 19:5-6; Hebrews 19:1-2; Ephesians 4:30)

Holy Orders

What are Holy Orders?
    A sacrament in which the priestly power is conferred on the candidate, together with a special grace to discharge its sacred functions.
(Matthew 18:18-22; Matthew 9:9; Mark 3:13-14; Mark 6:7-13; 2 Corinthians 5:20; 1 Timothy 1:18-20; Luke 10:16; and the Last Supper Accounts)


PENANCE is a sacrament in which the priest, as the representative of God, forgives sins when the sinner is heartily sorry for them, confesses them sincerely, and is determined to do penance for them.
(2 Corinthians 5:18; John 20:21-23; Luke 4:16-21; Isaiah 43:25)

Holy Communion

THE HOLY EUCHARIST is the true Body and Blood, Soul and Divinity of Our Lord Jesus Christ, Who is really and substantially present under the appearances of bread and wine for the nourishment of our souls.
(All of John 6; 1 Corinthians 11:26; Acts 2:42-43; and all the accounts of the Last Supper)

Holy Matrimony

MATRIMONY is a sacrament in which a single man and a single woman are united in marriage, and receive grace from God to fulfil the duties of their state faithfully until death. This sacrament imposes on the married couple the duty to live together in peace and love and conjugal fidelity, to bring up as Christians the children God may send them, and cheerfully share one another’s joys and sorrows. The free consent of both parties to the sacrament is absolutely essential.
(The Books of Ruth and Tobit are great examples of married love; Matthew 19:6; Genesis 2:18-25; Ephesians 5:21-33)


EXTREME UNCTION is a sacrament in which, through the Anointing with holy oil and the prayer of the priest, the grace of God is imparted to the sick in danger of death, for the welfare of the soul, and often also for that of the body. This sacrament is called Extreme Unction, because it is usually the last sacred anointing administered by the Church, meaning that one has been anointed in Baptism and Confirmation typically before needing the Sacrament of Anointing.
(James 5:14-17; Mark 6:13; Matthew 8:17)

Requesting the Sacraments

The Sacraments of Baptism, Confirmation, First Communion, Matrimony, & Holy Orders require some preparation for our souls. Please Contact the Parish Priest concerning the request for any of these.

The Sacrament of Extreme Unction, also known as Anointing, can be asked for any time. Please contact the Parish Priest. If you are in the hospital you can also ask them to call the on-call Priest.

The Sacrament of Penance is offered 30mins before Masses, or by contacting the Parish Priest for an appointment.

The Sacrament of the Most Blessed Sacrament is celebrated in Mass. Please see the posted Holy Mass times for hours and locations.

%d bloggers like this: